Confessions

16Feb12

Do you ever feel like in every blog you follow everyone has a perfect life, perfect kids, the perfect house and a perfect job?

Maybe it’s just the blogs that I follow, but everyone always seems to have everything together.  They take beautiful pictures, make crafts with their kids, sew, cook, bake, decorate and their kids are always wearing coordinating outfits.

It started me thinking that even on here, on my own blog, I usually just post pictures of the fun things that we do.  Special events, holidays and pictures of my kids smiling seem to be the main focus around here.

I thought I’d get real this post.  It’s time for some confessions of the things that you don’t see on my blog.

Confession #1:  Last week I had a couple of friends and their kids over for a little valentine play date/party.  They came over Friday afternoon for lunch.  I made a very yummy quinoa salad for lunch (for us grown ups, of course).  I didn’t get around to doing those dishes (or any dishes thereafter) until Monday morning.  That’s right, a straight 72 hour pile up of dirty dishes on my kitchen counter.

Confession #2:  Lately, my kid’s first instinct is to check for clean clothes in laundry baskets or the dryer.  About 3 weeks ago, Justin came to me and told me he didn’t have any clean outfits to wear.  He hadn’t even checked in his dresser.  Sadly, we had actually put his clothes away in his dresser (and I’m saying we, even though it was really my husband), but because he hadn’t had clothes in there for so long, he didn’t even think to look.

Confession #3:  Last week I ate 3 bags of Skittles.  I like to blame it on the pregnancy, but we all know I really love candy.

Confession #4:  Last night I asked Ella to read bedtime stories to Justin so that I could take a nap.  It was awesome.

Confession #5:  Last week my maternity jeans fit fine.  This week, they are really tight.  But not in the belly, in my thighs.  That’s not where the baby is (insert sigh).  Hmmm…maybe I should consider confession #3?

Confession #6:  Today I told my kids they couldn’t have any valentine candy as a punishment for their bad behavior.  Then, about 2 hours later, I totally forgot I said that and let them finish their heart box of chocolates.

 Confession #7:  I never wash off my eye makeup at night.  Face yes, but not the eyes.

Confession #8:  I don’t make the bed, except for sheet changing day.

Confession #9:  I never get gas in the car until the gas light has been on for a day or so.  My dad always taught me to fill up when you get down to the last quarter of a tank.  I don’t follow that, because I hate stopping until I absolutely have to.

Confession #10:  My kid’s playroom is so messy, you can hardly see the floor.  But, I totally don’t care, because I never look or go in.

Confession #11:  It took me about 3 hours to watch the 2 hour episode of The Bachelor this week (on the DVR, fast forwarding commercials), because I have ADD when I watch TV, and constantly pause my shows to do other things, like look at Pinterest on my iPhone.

Confession #12:  One thing’s for sure – I am not a perfect mom.  Recently, I left the kitchen table for 5 minutes while my kids were finishing their lunch.  During that 5 minutes, they got into a fight, and threw the juice from their mandarin orange cups at each other.  My freshly mopped kitchen floor was so sticky, that it sounded like velcro when I walked on it.  I yelled at them, and then I cried.

These confessions just cover a smidgen of the things that I wouldn’t take a picture of or write a post about.

I just felt the need to clarify that my house is often messy, I don’t always eat what I should, my kids don’t always behave the way I want them to and most days, we are just trying to survive.

2 Responses to “Confessions”

  1. 1 Julie

    You are my twin in a lot if ways 🙂

  2. 2 Janet

    I love this post–it’s so honest. Maybe everyone else will breathe a sigh of relief and realize that we can all quit trying to be, or look, so perfect. But I hope you made the kids clean that floor. : )


Leave a Reply

