Favorite Picture Books

29Apr12

This past year, something bittersweet has happened in our home.  I have moved on from reading picture books to reading chapter books out loud to Ella and Justin.  We don’t read as much as we used to, mainly because we have had a super busy schedule this past school year.  However, when I do read, it is usually from a chapter book.  Some of the books we have read together this year include From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz and Little House in the Big Woods.

I love reading to the kids, and I am excited that now they are old enough to listen to some of the chapter books that I remember being read to as a kid.  At the same time, I am a little sad that we hardly ever read picture books anymore.   At least I will get another chance to read some of my favorite titles again in a year or two, since I have another baby on the way.

Recently, I was cleaning out my children’s rooms and ended up organizing all of their books.  Here are some of our all-time favorites that I was reminded of.  I have read all of these countless times to Ella and Justin since they were little:

 One Morning In Maine, by Robert McCloskey

 Angus and the Cat, by Marjorie Flack

Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel, by Virginia Lee Burton

Corduroy, by Don Freeman

Harry the Dirty Dog, by Gene Zion

The Little House, by Virginia Lee Burton

Make Way for Ducklings, by Robert McCloskey

Umbrella, by Taro Yashima

My Goodnight Book, illustrated by Eloise Wilkins

Big Red Barn, by Margaret Wise Brown

The Napping House, by Audrey Wood

The Little Engine That Could, by Watty Piper

The Hiccupotamus, by Aaron Zenz

Choo-Choo Clickety Clack, by Margaret Mayo

Fancy Nancy, by Jane O’Connor

These are just a few of our favorites!  What are some of your favorites that you read to your kids?

One Response to “Favorite Picture Books”

  1. 1 Janet Farwell

    The Baby Beebee Bird, Sam Who Never Forgets, and Tippy’s Naughty Day. Oh, and New Blue Shoes! I love children’s books!


Leave a Reply

